105 Scholarships Awarded to High School and Area Technology Center Graduates

July 7, 2016
Kentucky Community and Technical College System, Kentucky Coal Academy
Contact: Greg Hiles, greg.hiles@kctcs.edu, (859) 256-3469


Martin Co. ATC scholarship recipients

[Photo caption: The 2016 Kentucky Junior Coal Academy Scholarship recipients from Martin County Area Technology Center are pictured above. From left to right: Shawna Maynard, Shyanna Jude, Taylor Fields (back row), Ryan Maynard, Abigail Carter, Austin Jarvis, Cody Kirk, Julia Crum, Courtland Cook, Jacob Thacker, Jessica Jude amp; Krista Newsome].

VERSAILLES, Ky. The Kentucky Coal Academy (KCA) is pleased to announce and award 105 scholarships, valued at $1,000 each, to local high school and area technology center students who participated in, and graduated from, its Junior Coal Academy programs across the state during the 2015-16 academic year.

Students who are members of the Junior Coal Academy, which is operated in partnership with four colleges that are part of the Kentucky Community and Technical College System (KCTCS), begin exploring pathways to higher education during their junior year, and have an expressed interest in mining technology, engineering or a closely related field.

It s always exciting to give young students the opportunity to discover their potential, and our program and these scholarships do just that, said Junior Coal Academy Coordinator Barney Judd. Our graduates learn a variety of skills through our coursework and they can use these scholarships to continue higher education at one of our colleges in a variety of technical areas like automotive technology, carpentry, diesel mechanics, electricity, HVAC, information technology, mining, welding and more.

The 2015-16 recipients are listed below by KCTCS college service area, and by high school or area technology center.

Big Sandy Community and Technical College

Belfry Area Technology Center: Willard Blackburn, Caleb Elkins, Jeremy Elkins, Dustin Epling, Tyler Goins, Devin Hatfield, Garrett Justice, Philip Justice, Michael King, Beau Mullins, John Robinette and Colby Stanley

Floyd County Area Technology Center: Kaylee Bates, Alicia Burke, Bethany Dye, Michaela Gayheart, Kaetlyn Hall, Steven Hall, Desiree Johnson, James Johnson, Crisa Kidd, Brandy Osborne, Chris Patton, Jacob Potter and Laken Springer

Martin County Area Technology Center: Abigail Carter, Courtland Cook, Julia Crum, Taylor Fields, Austin Jarvis, Jessica Jude, Shyanna Jude, Cody Kirk, Ryan Manard, Shawna Maynard, Krista Newsome and Jacob Thacker

Millard County Area Technology Center: Evan Chapman, Johnny Conn, Kaitlin Johnson, Camron Potter, Christopher Wellman and Christian Wright

Hazard Community and Technical College

Knott County Area Technology Center: Austin Adams, Gary Bates, Brianna Blair, Amos Campbell, Acacia Hall, Larry Jacobs, Kelsey Little, Sarah McKinney, Dalton Ritchie, Byron Smith and Gregory Taylor

Lee County Area Technology Center: Chantel Bowman, Hannah Combs, Dalton Fox, Lena Horton, Sajen Shoemaker and Chelsy Gayheart

Madisonville Community College

Muhlenberg Technical Center: Madison Crim, Amanda Harvey, Austin Hoeft, Elisa Lyles, Mollie Martin, Lauren Todd, Sabrina Vincent, Ashton Wheatstine, Hailey Whitney and Anna Wood

Webster County Area Technology Center: Macy Davenport, Melissa De La Paz, Kimberly Dukes Ralynn Fambrough, Hallie Gibson, Lesley Justice, Jordan Kelley, Hannah Melton, Destiny Pryor, Tara Rowley, Hannah Shanks, Mackenzie Tharp, Olga Valentin and Jermiah Welton

Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College

Bell County Area Technology Center: Andrew Blondell, Natalie Brock, Luke Henson, Jacob Quillen, Ashley Sweat, Joshua Warren and Nikolas Wilson

Knox Central High School: Andalyn Brock and Caitlyn Walters

Letcher County Area Technology Center: Jack Adams, Quinn Fisher, Tanner Handshoe, Ralph Niece, Clayton Polly, Allison Pryor, Trevor Quillen, Jacob Ramsey, Alex Sturgill, Houston Sword, Austin Whitaker and Alexander Williams

In order to use these scholarships, which can only be applied to tuition, students need to enroll in any type of course or academic program at one of the four KCTCS colleges listed above within a year of graduation. If a student isn t able to apply these funds to tuition within the first year of attendance, the funds can be applied to a future semester as long as the student remains enrolled and has the opportunity to use the funds.

For more information about the KCA s programs and services, connect with us at CoalAcademy.kctcs.edu, Facebook.com/KyCoalAcademy and Twitter @KyCoalAcademy.


Find the Coal Academy Location Closest to You